

ANNEXURE

BRIEF CVS OF THE PIC BOARD OF DIRECTORS

NEW MEMBERS TO THE PIC BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Ms Sindi Mabaso – Koyana: She is Chartered Accountant by profession with experience in the public and private sectors. She served on a number of boards including Transnet, South African Airways, South African Institute of Chartered Accountants, MTN, SANRAL and Altron Group.

Irene Charnley: She has a Certificate of Graphic Art, Reproduction and Technology and a Certificate in Industrial Relations. She worked as a negotiator for South Africa's National Union of Mineworkers where she spent 13 years coordinating various divisions of union operations. She served as Executive Director for the MTN Group and thereafter she joined Johnic. She is currently the Deputy Chairperson of Smile Telecoms Holdings and she previously served as the CEO of Smile Telecoms Holdings Ltd.

Tshepiso Moahloli: She holds a Master of Economics Science degree (Cum Laude) and a Master of Business Administration degree. She is currently the Chief Director: Liability Management at the National Treasury. She also held the positions Director Debt Issuance and Management and Director Foreign Debt Management.

Maria Ramos: She holds an Institute of Bankers' Diploma, a Bachelor of Commerce degree, a Bachelor of Commerce Honours degree in Economics and a Master of Science (Economics) degree. She was the Chief Executive Officer of Absa Group Limited. Prior to joining Absa as Group Chief Executive she was the Group Chief Executive of Transnet Limited and served as the Director-General of the National Treasury. She is currently a Member of the Group of Thirty





and she Co-Chairs the Secretary General's Task Force on Digital Financing of the Sustainable

Development Goals.

Barbara Watson: She holds a BA Social Science degree. She is a qualified Social Worker.

She worked at the Department of Public Service and Administration as Chief Director for

Transformation Policies and Programmes. She served as a Trustee of the Government

Employee Pension Fund.

Ivan Fredericks: He holds an advanced Diploma in Labour Law. He is the General Manager

of the Public Servants Association (PSA). He served as the Deputy General Manager of the

PSA and as the Assistant General Manager: Liaison, Communication and Social

Responsibility of the PSA.

Zola Saphetha: He is currently the General Secretary of NEHAWU, a member of the central

Executive Committee of COSATU. He is a former KZN Provincial Secretary, Deputy General

Secretary of NEHAWU and COSATU KZN provincial Executive Committee member.

Bhekithemba Gamedze: He is a qualified actuary, a fellow of the Actuarial Society of South

Africa and he was the founding President of the Association of South African Black Actuarial

Professionals. He also served as Chairman of the South African Insurance Association. He is

currently a Non-Executive Director of Santam and a Trustee on the Government Employees

Pension Fund Board.

Dr Angelo David Sabelo de Bruin: He holds a MBchB degree (Cum Laude) and a Diploma

in Advanced Health Services. He is currently in community private practise as a Principal

Medical Doctor in Community Health.

Prof Bonke Dumisa: Prof Dumisa holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) degree, a B

Com honours degree, a Master of Business Administration degree, a Master of Science

degree, a Doctor of Business Administration degree and a Bachelor of Laws degree. He also

holds a Master of Law degree and a Professorship in Economics.

Advocate Makhubalo Ndaba: He holds a B Juris degree, a Bachelor of Law degree and a

Master of Law degree in Employment Law. He is an advocate of the High Court of South

Africa. He is a member of the Black Lawyers Association, the Pension Lawyers Association of

Enquiries: Communications Unit Email: media@treasury.gov.za Tel: (012) 315 5944

f



South Africa and the Institute of Directors of Southern Africa. He is currently the Company

Secretary and Group Corporate Counsel of the PGC Group.

Dr Reuel Khoza: He is currently Chairman of Dzana Investments (Pty) Ltd and AKA Capital

(Pty) Ltd. He is also a former Chairman of Nedbank Group Limited and Globeleq, and a

director of several companies.

RE-APPOINTMENT OF TWO MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Pitsi Moloto: He holds a Master degree in City/Urban Community and Regional Planning and

a Master degree in Business Administration. He served as the Chief Whip for the Limpopo

Legislature and as the MEC for Economic Development, Environment and Tourism and as the

MEC for Transport. He served on the PIC BoD from 1 December 2015 to 31 May 2019.

Dr Xolani Mkhwanazi: Dr Mkhwanazi holds a Bachelor of Science in Maths and Physics

degree, a Master of Science degree and PhD in Applied Physics. Dr Xolani Mkhwanazi is an

experienced senior business leader, serving as a director in several companies. He has

extensive executive leadership, business and technical experience in the Energy, Mining and

Public Sector. He served as the Deputy Chairperson of the PIC BoD.

Issued by the Ministry of Finance

Date: 10 July 2019

Enquiries: Ntsakisi Ramunasi 083 646 6935

